Need Some Lovin Today?

Thinking about the old song What The World Needs Now Is Love“. Maybe you’ve heard it. I was in diapers when it came out, but it’s been recorded so many times.

Here’s the lyrics to the song as written by Hal Davis

What the world needs now is love, sweet love
It’s the only thing that there’s just too little of
What the world needs now is love, sweet love,
No not just for some but for everyone.

Lord, we don’t need another mountain,
There are mountains and hillsides enough to climb
There are oceans and rivers enough to cross,
Enough to last till the end of time.

What the world needs now is love, sweet love
It’s the only thing that there’s just too little of
What the world needs now is love, sweet love,
No, not just for some but for everyone.

Lord, we don’t need another meadow
There are cornfields and wheat fields enough to grow
There are sunbeams and moonbeams enough to shine
Oh listen, lord, if you want to know.

What the world needs now is love, sweet love
It’s the only thing that there’s just too little of
What the world needs now is love, sweet love,
No, not just for some but for everyone.

No, not just for some, oh, but just for everyone.

As I was thinking about the lyrics of this song. I wondered what message was the writer trying to pen for the world to hear? Seems to me that it’s about acceptance and we all need to love each other without condition. Maybe Hal had in mind the prejudices that people have towards others that are different from themselves. I can’t really determine what the definite meaning or point is behind what was written. Usually when a writer writes you can read between the lines of what they’re writing and find some hints at what they may be thinking. At least that’s what I’ve always been told. Probably some truth to that.

I was reminded of God’s unconditional love today because I’d seen a photo on Facebook. I pondered the unconditional part. Yes, God does love us without condition. We don’t earn it, we just aren’t good enough to ever be able to earn God’s love. And yes, He does love us all.. How can He not. He is love! Scripture tells us in (1 John 4:8) Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. His love is the Agape form of love. The highest form of love. Having said that, God is also Holy and even though He loves us, we have to make a choice as to what we will do with God’s love. Will we accept His perfect gift of love or reject it. Being a Holy God, unholy people such as ourselves will not be able to enter into His presence. So he had a plan and made a way for us to enter into His presence. And we can enter into His presence not only after death, but in prayer here on earth. And that was made possible through His son Jesus.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
—John 3:16, KJV
So as I think of the song above I think that what the world really needs is to accept what God has given. To accept Him and His son that died for us. That is love. You see even when we love each-other it is not an Agape love. Our love is flawed, because we are flawed. I hope you’ll accept God’s gift of Jesus and experience real love. There’s nothing sweeter in the world!

1 Corinthians 13

New International Version (NIV)

13 If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b]but do not have love, I gain nothing.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

2 thoughts on “Need Some Lovin Today?

  1. Thank you for sharing inspiration. Truely, you are a blessing to many. The world really needs more love, and I thank God for His love toward us. Thank you so much for visiting My Journal of Praise and liking posts. God bless your life!

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

