Are You Thirsty?

  

Today is a milestone for me! I reach 30! Not thirty years old, but 30 posts have been written on my blog!  Yippee!  It’s quite an accomplishment considering it took me 3 years to write the very first one!  It’s been quite a while since I turned 30 years old, though.  Long enough, in fact, that after turning a certain other number (I’ll keep it to myself), I decided I would grow a year younger each year.  I’ll be 30 again in a few years! I know I’m cheating!  Hey, it’s my birthday game and I’ll play it how I like! 

It’s funny how certain times in our lives like milestone birthdays, the birth of a first child, the death of a parent or “empty nest syndrome” can bring us to a place where we’re looking inside and also outside of ourselves for satisfaction. Birthdays are especially good about bringing us to a place of contemplation about where we are in life.  Have we attained what we thought we would by this time?  Have we reached our full potential?  These questions enter everyone’s mind now and again. It’s all too easy to  become thirsty for what you haven’t achieved or what you haven’t attained, grasping to reach those goals before you leave this earth as if there isn’t anything left afterwards. This can be good or bad. It depends on what you grasp for to fill your cup of thirst with. You can try to fill it by getting a promotion at work, reaching another rung up on the corporate ladder. You may decide to have another child, buy another piece of jewelry or dump the person you’re with and get another one. People do these things everyday trying to quench a thirst deep inside. It may help temporarily, but it won’t help for long. The reason?  We the human race just can’t get enough, can we?  We just get thirsty again. God’s word addresses thirst many times because He knows us. He knows our weaknesses and He knows our appetite and what we”ll try to drink to fill us up. Thanks be to God that He gives us a big heads up!  He points us in the right direction, to where we need to focus our attentions so that we don’t keep drinking from a bottomless well and eating until we are so fattened that we just vomit it back up. He tells us how we can fill the God-shaped vacuum in each of us. A vacuum He himself designed up to have.      

 Psalm 42:1-2 As the deer pants for the water brooks, So my soul pants for Thee, O God. 2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God; When shall I come and appear before God?

Matthew 5:6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

John 4:13-14 Jesus answered and said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water shall thirst again; 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.”

Revelation 7:16-17 They shall hunger no more, neither thirst anymore; neither shall the sun beat down on them, nor any heat; 17 for the Lamb in the center of the throne shall be their shepherd, and shall guide them to springs of the water of life; and God shall wipe every tear from their eyes.

I’ll share a short bit from a website that has a great study titled “Quenching Our Thirst At God’s Fountain”. By J. Hampton Keathley, III. 

An old tale from India about a young man seeking God 

He went to a wise old sage for help. “How can I find God?” he asked the old man. The old man took him to a nearby river. Out they waded into the deep water. Soon the water was up just under their chins. Suddenly the old man seized the young man by the neck and pushed him under the water. He held the young man down until the young man was flailing the water in desperation. Another minute and he may well have drowned. Up out of the water the two of them came. The young man was coughing water from his lungs and still gasping for air. Reaching the bank he asked the man indignantly, “What did that have to do with my finding God?” The old man asked him quietly, “While you were under the water, what did you want more than anything else?” The young man thought for a minute and then answered, “I wanted air. I wanted air more than anything else?” The old man replied, “When you want God as much as you wanted air, you will find him.”3

For more of J. Hampton Keathley’s study visit the website link.  It’s an excellent read! 

So how thirsty for God are you??  Just look at what you’re doing, thinking or searching for and that’s your answer.

It’s okay to have goals we should as long as we’re alive, we just need to make sure we’re not trying to fill our tanks with them. Because we’ll always eventually be running on empty. Okay, that last thing I just typed made me think of a secular song so applicable to this post.  I’ll share the lyrics.  I never liked this song! 

Running On Empty Lyrics by Jackson Browne

Looking out at the road rushing under my wheels
Looking back at the years gone by like so many summer fields
In sixty-five I was seventeen and running up one-o-one
I don’t know where I’m running now, I’m just running on
Running on – running on empty
Running on – running blind
Running on – running into the sun
But I’m running behind
Gotta do what you can just to keep your love alive
Trying not to confuse it with what you do to survive
In sixty-nine I was twenty-one and I called the road my own
I don’t know when that road turned onto the road I’m on
Running on – running on empty
Running on – running blind
Running on – running into the sun
But I’m running behind
Everyone I know, everywhere I go
People need some reason to believe
I don’t know about anyone but me
If it takes all night, that’ll be all right
If I can get you to smile before I leave
Looking out at the road rushing under my wheels
I don’t know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels
I look around for the friends that I used to turn to to pull me through
Looking into their eyes I see them running too
Running on – running on empty
Running on – running blind
Running on – running into the sun
But I’m running behind
Honey you really tempt me
You know the way you look so kind
I’d love to stick around but I’m running behind
You know I don’t even know what I’m hoping to find
Running into the sun but I’m running behind

*** Running where?  Running to the next thing that will fulfill them temporarily *** 

Replace the song above with this one! 

Fill My Cup Lord by Richard Blanchard

Like the Woman at the well I was seeking

 For things that could not satisfy

And then I heard my Savior speaking:

draw from my well that never runs dry      
Fill my cup, Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
                                 
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
                             
Bread of heaven, feed me ’til I want no more-
                                  
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

VERSE 2:
There are millions in this world who are craving
The pleasure earthly things afford;
But none can match the wondrous treasure
That I find in Jesus Christ my Lord.

VERSE 3:
So, my brother, if the things this world gave you
Leave hungers that won’t pass away,
My blessed Lord will come and save you,
If you kneel to Him and humbly pray:

�1959 Richard Blanchard. Assigned 1964 Word Music, Inc. (a div. of Word Music Group, Inc.)
All rights reserved. International copyright secured. Used by permission.
CCLI #15946

How to be filled….

 Lift your cup up daily and let God fill it.

http://bible.org/article/quenching-our-thirst-god%E2%80%99s-fountain

 
 

4 thoughts on “Are You Thirsty?

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

