Burning Down the House

photo

Daily blog prompt:

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

I decided to join in on today’s daily prompt for post a day. I toyed with the answer I’d come up with. What would I take??? I wanted to come up with something unusual, like a carved teak elephant from my last trip to China. Okay, I’ll admit it, I don’t have a carved teak elephant and I haven’t been to China. So after drawing water from every conceivable well of my imagination, I arrived at the answer. I would take our family photos! Ho hum you say, everyone say’s they’ll take their family photos! It’s cliche, I know, but I can’t help but answer honestly and admit that I too just like 99% of you would grab my treasured family photos. You see, they hold the key to my past, present and future, as well as my children past, present and future. I’ve spent many hours pouring over them. All the distant relative that I’ve never met, that have long passed on. My photos have helped me to understand where I get some of my uniqueness, like fair skin and light eyes and um…my crooked toe. My children have enjoyed looking at our photos as well, with exclamations like, “Look at how long Dad’s hair was! Now he doesn’t have any!” They see life begin and end in some of our photos as the ones of my Dad as an infant and then riddled with lung cancer not long before his death. Photos teach us all that there are seasons in life and it’s common for us all as humans to go through them. They are a legacy for my children and hopefully one day my children’s children. Yes , I’m certain I would grab my photos. Of course now in our techno infiltrated world that might consist of a flash drive and CD’s. For us though we have plenty of good old fashioned photos that need to be preserved on Cd one of these days!

I suppose as I’m exiting my house as it burns I better grab my cell phone and iPod touch! How could I call for help and update my blog without them??

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

