Good Luck! No, God Bless!

IMG_3983I couldn’t help but purchase this fun package of pasta for St. Patrick’s Day. After all, who doesn’t want to eat something “lucky”. And being I’m a wee bit Irish, I have to celebrate somehow! I”m not a drinker, so eating is my way of celebrating this festive occasion.

St Patrick’s day, ah the green… oh for the love of green! Leprechaun, castles, pots o’ gold, rainbows and lucky charms! I’ve always found St. Patrick’s Day to be fun, I remember growing up in Chicago and it was a big day for celebrating there. Parades that went on for miles with music, dancing and lots of Irish eyes smiling about. Even the Chicago River was dyed green. Which is still done each year.

A mist all the hoopla I can’t say if I truly believe in luck or not. I think at times we make our own luck by our choices, Yet life isn’t always fair for some folks. Sometimes you don’t get a choice. Some are born into a comfortable life with their college education paid for even before they were born! Others unfortunately are born into a life of struggle. Misfortune with poor health happens to the rich as the poor. And those born poor can sometimes turn their life around and become very successful,  defying the odds that are stacked against them. Maybe, I’m looking at this thing called “luck” all wrong. What would Jesus say? Would’ve he said,  the man without problems is lucky because he is without struggle? Or would he say “Lucky are the poor in Spirit for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”…Oh wait, he did say something like that. This is what He says “Blessed are the poor in Spirit for theirs is the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 5:3) Yes the word blessed means “happy” in translation. It’s the closest thing I could find to “lucky” in scripture. Poor in Spirit is thought to mean humble. Doesn’t trials and misfortune and struggle bring about humility? So my mind is settled on this issue. I know that if I perceive something as unlucky God will take it and make something good come from it. That’s about as good as it can get, especially since good and bad things happen to us all  I close with a Irish blessing for you.

May the rain drops fall lightly on your brow

May soft words freshen your spirit

May the sunshine brighten your heart

May the burdens of the day rest lightly on you

And may God enfold you in the mantle of His love

.970154_70617212

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

