The Importance Of Salt According to the Bible

1414416_28489993Have you ever eaten salt-free soup? I haven’t had completely salt free soup, but I have had low salt soup. It wasn’t that impressive. I’d made it myself and I followed the recipe completely and all the ingredients were fresh. The only difference was the super low salt content. It tasted so bland! It just lacked something, which was salt. Did you know salt was treasured in Ancient Civilization even more so than it is today? Salt has many uses other than it’s seasoning ability. It can also be used for purifying, preserving and as an cleaning agent. In Modern times, its main use is as a seasoning or preservative keeping food fresh and curing blandness. Before you go out and get salty pretzels or potato chips from all this talk of salt think twice about consuming it in large quantities. In America we eat too much of this super spice. We are ranked 19 in the world for salt related deaths! Pretty scary, isn’t it? Death by salt! It’s a big contributor in the role of high blood pressure. So moderation is key, when it comes to consuming salt in you’re diet.894639_16171339

Even still, salt is important, so important that it’s mentioned in the old testament book of Job 6:6 “Can that which is unsavory be eaten without salt? Or is there (any) taste in the white of an egg? Eggs without salt- yuck! Jesus also spoke of salt in the sermon on the mount. When He addressed His followers as salt. “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.” Matt 5:13. That’s how I felt about my soup! Without the salt I might as well have thrown it out! Instead of resorting to those drastic measures, I just added salt. What a change! It was delicious Salt made that much of a difference. Here are a few questions to meditate on today. I’ll be thinking of them along with you.

  • Do I make a difference to the people around me?
  • Do they see something special in me? ( Jesus )
  • Can I be a world changer right where I am?

“Let there be work, bread, water and salt for all”

Nelson Mandela

One thought on “The Importance Of Salt According to the Bible

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

