Hope – According to Romans 5:1-5

709534_90199233Romans 5:1-5  Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

Let’s look at this passage closer. I want to know more about the word hope. I need hope, don’t you?

Hope is a word used extensively by most people. We use the word to express what we want to happen. We use it very frequently, or at least I do, but what does it really mean to hope? After gleaning new insight from studying the word “praise” the other day, I decided to look deeper into the meaning of the word “hope” in reference to Romans 5:2-5

So I’ll start with an online dictionary: Merriam Websters

Here’s what I found: verb

  • Intransitive verb- To cherish a desire with anticipation
  • transitive verb -To desire with expectation of obtainment – to expect with confidence, trust.
Hope is a verb. Not surprising to me. I also notice it can be intransitive or transitive. The intransitive form of hope is the closest definition of how I use the word in my day to day speech. For example when I say, “I hope I can travel to the Mediterranean one day.” Most likely I don’t have actual plans to go, but I desire to.
The transitive form of hope is exciting!
To desire with expectation of obtainment or to expect with confidence or trust.967875_41580221
According to Strong’s Lexicon the original Greek meaning of hope in this scripture reference is #1680 elpis- elpizo to expect- to trust. That’s what Romans 5:1-5 is saying.
We are to hope with expectation and trust. It’s not wishful thinking. It’s with confidence and trust that we serve

2 thoughts on “Hope – According to Romans 5:1-5

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

