Learning To Be Patient

58600_4561For a thousand years in your sight are but as yesterday when it is past, or as a watch in the night.

Psalm 90:4

Instant gratification. We all want it. We expect things to happen quickly. If our internet access takes longer than we’ve become accustomed to, it ticks us off doesn’t it? We become impatient so easy, and with little meaningless things. It’s easy to let our impatient attitude spill over into our relationship with God. We need to remind ourselves that God’s timing is different from ours. If we don’t get an answer when we expect to we shouldn’t feel that God’s holding something back from us or not listening to our prayers, it’s just not true. As long as we are in right relationship with him and not harboring sin, he hears us. God has good things planned for us, His children. God is loving and patient and not in a hurry. Why would he be in a hurry to accomplish something in our lives? God already knows what He’s ordained to happen will happen. God chooses to work gradually growing our character to match His sons. Our learning to wait on God and trust in His timing is a life long lesson. I suppose like young children, we need to be taught over and over again, until we get it. When we learn to “wait” on God we will reap a beautiful reward of peace and patience and those virtues are worth all the waiting in the world.. 384110_4480

6 thoughts on “Learning To Be Patient

  1. Dear Melissa, you are obviously a very special person with the ability to do the right thing at the right time.
    I’m supposed to be having surgery on my left ear to plug the lateral canal. The surgeon wants an MRI scan to be done prior to the surgery so that he can see what is going on. But beacause of my old pace maker I can’t have an MRI. We tried a CT scan but this doesn’t show him enough so I’ll have to have a newer MRI “friendly” pace maker fitted. You can imaging the frustration that is now building up – I want this fixed! All of this has aoccured within the last few days.
    And along comes a very special lady who is reminding me of G-d’s master plan for all of us and the fact that patience is a necessary part of life. Your timing is absolutely perfect in reminding me of what we all know and choose to forget.
    THANK YOU over and over and over again. There is obviously a very good reason that we live on opposite sides of the world and may never meet each other and I may never get to meet such a wonderful person.
    My French wife has tought me a lovely French expression that when translated tells us that with patience we will achieve everything.

  2. Norman,
    I am grateful the Holy Spirit lead me to write just what you needed to read at the right time. God is mysterious in His workings and why He should choose me to encourage you I’ll never know, at least in this life time. I feel for you and what frustration this new delay is bringing. Remain strong and when you feel overwhelmed or angry talk to the Lord and He will sustain you. I will lift up prayer to the Lord on your behalf. I pray you can be full of peace
    despite this delay.

  3. Good post, Melissa. I used to be the world’s most impatient/Type A person. But now that I am helpless, I’m patient:-) Being impatient is one of the few things I don’t miss about my old self.

  4. I still have my impatient moments, but I’ve grown to be much more patient. Having an illness that lingers will surely change you’re disposition. 🙂

  5. I did pray for patience & boy am I learning. Honestly I think learning to be patient is always gonna be a hard lesson. We start out our lives being impatient for our bottles and then the impatience moves to other things.

Did you enjoy this post? If so share your thoughts!

